Privacy Policy

    From Telepedia Meta Wiki, Telepedia's central hub
    Privacy PolicyThis page documents a global Telepedia policy. All Telepedia users should follow it, and changes made to it should be discussed on the talk page. In the event of any differences in meaning between the original English version and a translation, the original English version takes precedence.Global Policy

    Telepedia is committed to protecting the privacy of all of our users across the Platform (https://telepedia.net, and all of its subdomains), whether you are a reader or a contributor. As a result, we have a transparent, straight-forward Privacy Policy. By using any of the sites we operate, you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and use of cookies.

    Information we collect

    We collect information about users as they take part in certain activities on our Platform. Most notably, basic user information is collected during the registration of a new user account on any of the sites on our Platform, which includes but is not limited to email addresses and full names; users are under no obligation, however, to provide these and not doing so will not detriment your experience. While using our Platform, other demographic data such as gender and age may also be collected if the user chooses to disclose that information. Users are free to remove any and all such personal information that has been given—such as email addresses, gender, and names—at any point that they chose.

    User Generated Content

    When you make a contribution to any of the sites on our Platform, henceforth referred to as "user generated content" or USG, you are creating a permanent, public record of every piece of content added, removed, or altered by you. Public historical records will show when your contribution was made, as well as your username (if you are signed in) or your IP address (if you are not signed in). Any of this information is visible on the internet and can be found by search engines. Public contributions are associated with the user that contributed them and this information will be visible on the site.

    Even if an article or contribution is deleted from the Platform, there is no guarantee that the information stored within the contribution is truly deleted. System administrators may be able to see the contents of the contribution as stored within relevant database tables on our servers. Only in the event of legal proceedings wherein the Company is required to remove all traces of a contribution can this be achieved.

    Automatically received data

    When you requests a page on any of our sites, the web server automatically collects information about you, such as the your IP address, browser version and type, type and version of your operating system, the URL that referred you to this site, and in some cases the name of your internet service provider or mobile carrier. This data is used to provide a better experience for our users through determining ways to improve, administrate, and customise our site.

    This data is stored in logs which are only accessed in the event that system administrators need to debug an issue on the Platform and is treated with explicit confidentiality and never shared publicly or by anyone outside of the Organisation.

    Locally stored data

    We actively collect some types of information with a variety of commonly-used technologies, which can include tracking pixels, JavaScript, our users’ local storage, and cookies. Depending on which technology we use, locally stored data can be anything from text and pictures, to personal information (like your IP address) and information about your use of the sites on our Platform (like your username or the time of your visit). We use cookies to personalize your experience and retain preferences that you set. Some cookies that are in use are essential for our sites to function, including those that allow us to keep our users logged in for a duration of time.

    Information we share

    We do not share personal information with companies, organisations, and indviduals outside of Telepedia LTD unless one of the following circumstances applies:

    • If you give us consent, we may ask if you’d like to opt-in to share personal data with third parties. You’re welcome to say no, and we’ll adhere to your request.
    • For legal reasons we may share personal information with other companies and organisations if it is deemed necessary to:
      • adhere to any law, regulation, or government request;
      • enforce local and network-wide policies, including but not limited to our Terms of Use;
      • detect and prevent security or technical issues;
      • protect against harm to other users of our sites, or our company;
    • We may share non-publicly identifiable information publicly and with our partners. Some non-identifiable information is collected by tools such as Google Analytics, which is subject to Google’s partner privacy policy.

    Alternatively, we may share your information with the Information and Commissioners Office (ICO) if we are legally required to under UK Law. Examples of this may include where there has been a data breach and, as a result, we must share the identification of all users involved and the data that may have been breached. If this were to happen, affected users would be contacted directly by the Company.

    Changes

    Our privacy policy may change on occasion. Changes to the policy will be reflected on this page, and if there are significant changes, we will inform you via email if available.

    When this policy applies

    This policy applies when viewing pages on any of our sites and using our services. It will not apply to any external links that are followed. We are not responsible for the content or privacy policies of sites that we link to.

    Storage duration

    We keep any identifiable information we have for the shortest possible time, in accordance with law. Non-private information, such as contributions to the site, may be kept indefinitely subject to our licensing. We keep information for a maximum of 90 days, or until it is no longer useful or needed; at this time, it is removed from our servers.